Disabled, But Smiling

Yesterday, I was on my way downtown on the 2 train. When I got on, there was a young man standing by the door. As I sat down, practically in front of him (unintentionally, of course), I noticed him looking at me with a goofy grin. At first I thought he was being a creep & trying to look down my tank top (it was HOT outside). But after a few minutes, I realized he wasn’t smiling at me. He had some form of mental disability. He was in his own little world, making sounds like the humming of a song, occasionally taking a sip from his water bottle, and smiling. Thinking about the simplicity of his being, I couldn’t help but smile myself.

Feel free to post comments or share similar experiences, whether in NYC or elsewhere.
~Izzy

Leave a Reply

