Crazy Stare

Tonight I was on my way home from my parents’ house in the Bronx, so I took the 2 train before transferring to the F train. When I got on the 2 train, I noticed an odd seating pattern in the car. Everyone seemed to be sitting towards one side of the train. Normally that signals a homeless person or drunk (or both) sitting or lying in the emptier side. But no, there weren’t any of those. The two-seated was empty & there was a normal, put together lady sitting on the four-seater in front of it.

So I sat down on the two-seater & made myself as comfortable. That’s when I felt it. The tingling all over & the hairs on the back of my neck rising with goosebumps. The sensation of eminent danger or something “off” near me. I took a quick, discreet glance down the car. Sure there where more male passengers, but that’s expected at that time. Though none looked menacing or up to anything that would cause alarm.

I was leaning against the side of the car so I only had the glass window to my left. Sure enough, when I turn to look thru the window, into the next car, there’s a big Black woman staring at me. I tried to brush it off to coincidence, but every time I glanced over she was staring back at me, with unblinking eyes, not moving a muscle. She looked like a character from one of those racially stereotypical movies from the 1930s, but super creepy.

It got to the point that I was so uncomfortable, I quickly got off the train & ran to the next car in the opposite direction. I half expected her to jump out of her car & follow me, but that was not the case. I shook off the feeling & settled into my new seat.

Feel free to post comments or share common experiences, whether in NYC or elsewhere.

~Izzy

Leave a Reply

